Girl on the Train

I took a break from my reading challenge to get through Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. I loved Gone Girl, and I keep hearing comparisons about the two books. My lovely grandmother had purchased it, but did not have time to read it this week with all of the Christmas preparations, so she kindly let me borrow it, and I read it in three sittings.

IMG_5019

This book is well-written, and is certainly a page-turner. It is written from multiple perspectives, which I appreciate, and it had some great cliffhangers at the end of a few sections. The only thing that I really knew about this book before reading it was that it was comparable to Gone Girl, and it had a twist. I did figure the twist out, but not until it was close to the big reveal, so that was not terribly disappointing. I liked the character development in  this book. The main character, Rachel, is well-developed and complex. Hawkins did not allow her alcoholism to be romanticized in any way. Because Rachel is an alcoholic, she is not the most reliable narrator of her sections of the book – she does not remember things clearly, and sometimes not accurately. There were a few of her quirks that annoyed me, but that happens with real people, too!

I would, of course, recommend this book, especially if you like books that allow you to try and sort out what’s coming next.

Do you have any recommendations for books that get your heart beating a little and leave you trying to figure out the puzzle?

2 thoughts on “Girl on the Train

  1. Thanks for the review! I’ve been hearing good things about this book as well. Have you ever read “The Lost Symbol” by Dan Brown? It is full of twists and cool reveals, quite a ride. Sending best New Year wishes, Ewa

    Like

Leave a Reply

