The Namesake

If you follow me on Instagram (theworldishersforthereading) you know that there is a new addition to my family. Remi arrived a few days ago, and I am completely in love with her. She gets up way to early, but that means I can get some reading done.

File_000 (8)
Remi’s First Night at Home

This morning, I was able to finish The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri. When I was working on my M.A. in Literautre I took a post modern literature course that had a focus on Indian literature, but it was all focused on the partition of India. It was nice to read something current.

The Namesake is about a young man named Gogol, the son of Indian immigrants who is named after his father’s favorite author. The novel follows Gogol’s life from the time his mother was pregnant until he is an adult. Gogol struggles with the gap between his parents’ culture and the American culture that surrounds him. He grows up hating his name, not understanding its significance until he is much older. Gogol legally changes his name before college, but cannot actually escape it, as it is part of his culture to go by a nickname. Gogol has to figure out how much of his parents culture he will adapt into his own life.

The writing in this novel is incredible. Lahiri is excellent, and I will be adding more of her books to my TBR.

Leave a Reply

