Everything I Never Told You

File_000 (10)
The perfect Sunday night

On Sunday night I was able to sit outside with a glass of wine while the sun was setting and finish Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng while the puppy played in the yard.

I could hardly put this book down. The book opens with the death of Lydia, a teenager in the Lee family. Ng allows each family member the opportunity to reflect on how their history, how major events impacted their relationships, and their last interactions with Lydia. The book follows as the police try to sort out what happened, and how each member of the family attempts to cope with Lydia’s death.

If you have followed the blog at all, you know that I am a sucker for books with multiple perspectives and time lapses, so I was eating this up! I also like when there is some mystery to a book (or movie, or TV show), so I spent the entire book trying to sort out how Lydia turned up dead. I was worried for quite a few pages that Ng would not reveal what had happened, but thankfully she allows Lydia some reflections, as well.

I would recommend reading this book. It will not take you long, it will keep you guessing, and remind you that all families are complicated.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

