Big Little Lies

I have been focusing on reading more frequently. While I usually look for larger chunks of time to read, instead I have been trying to read in shorter spurts, even if it is only one chapter at night before I go to sleep. I have been stressed to the max with work, managing my household, and taking care of 8 (yes 8!) animals at the moment. I have four foster kittens at the moment, but they are ready to be adopted, so hopefully that will lead things to slow down soon. Taking the time to read and unwind at night is helping me to fall asleep sooner, and not stay awake thinking of everything I need to do.

I finished Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty this week. This book was basically the juicy reality shows (think Real Housewives) from Bravo that I love so much. I loved the gossipy, secret-keeping characters who try to only show the best parts of their lives to the people around them. It’s so not my world, which made it a great way to escape. The pages just kept turning! I was able to figure out the twist/mystery, but appreciated how the book kept my attention.

The book centers around a few families who all have children in an elementary school. The kindergarten mothers cause particular controversy as they all try to sort out which of the kids has been bullying one girl in the class. You know right away that there is an incident where someone dies, and you hear quotes from witnesses and gossip mongers in each chapter, but you do not really know what happened or who died until the end of the book. Throughout you fall in love with Jane, the new mom in town. Jane, as a young and single mom is trying to sort out where she fits into the world, and in the school.

I will be adding The Husband’s Secret to my TBR, and will pick it up when I need a fast and gossipy read!

I’m jumping back into my books-to-read-in-your-20s list with my next two reads, which I picked up from the library today. I am seven books behind on my book challenge, but hope to play some catch up with my new reading routine!

Leave a Reply

