Pilgrim at Tinker Creek

This morning I finished Pilgrim at Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard. I live in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, a place where you can still get lost in the woods and lose cell phone reception. I love walking out through the woods, just like Dillard, and I thought this book would be about her adventures, but I was presently surprised.

Dillard does not just talk about her adventures in the woods, however. What I appreciated about Pilgrim at Tinker Creek was the details. Dillard’s stories about sitting on a bridge for 40 minutes to watch a muskrat, or thinking about the atoms in the tail of a goldfish. She appreciates all of the small pieces that make up her love of Tinker Creek. The best way I can describe this book is like a prayer to the mystery of the world.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

