The Line That Held Us

I am making some progress on my BOTM back list pile! I read one from 2018 – David Joy’s The Line That Held Us. This book is a little thriller/crime/mystery. Darl Moody is out hunting for a huge buck he has been after for years when he accidentally shoots a man who was digging in the woods. He quickly comes to realize the man is the brother of a man known to be violent. He calls on a friend to help him hide the body, but their secrets don’t last long.

This book wasn’t terribly suspenseful, but I kept turning the pages. The story is pretty violent, so if that’s not your thing, I would stay clear. I found myself really torn on who I was supposed to be siding with. There really aren’t good characters – everyone is a bit of a mess and complicated. It reminded me a little of all the things I loved from Razorblade Tears.

Leave a comment