The Sun Down Motel

The Sun Down Motel by Simone St. James has so many elements that I like – mystery, crime-solving, and jumps in time/perspective. The story jumps between present day and the 1980s. In the 1980s story line Viv is working at The Sun Down Motel when she suddenly goes missing, never to be seen again. Flash forward 30 years and her niece Carly starts to work in the same motel to honor her crime podcast loving tendencies. She quickly learns something is amiss at the motel.

I really enjoyed reading this and almost gave it 5 stars. However, I wasn’t here for the supernatural elements of the novel. I liked the book, but the supernatural pieces just aren’t my thing. For that reason, I won’t be picking up The Book of Cold Cases which I’ve heard has the same type of supernatural elements.

Leave a comment